A Look at How Domestic Water Systems are Tested

One of the essential components in a house is the water system, which starts from the water well and ends at your kitchen tap. However, most people don’t realize that a domestic water system goes through different types of tests to ensure its safety for years to come. This article will go over the three types of tests that your water system goes through, what they test for and how to know if there are any issues with your water.

Types of Tests

1. Microbial Monitoring/Bacteriological Testing

This type of test is performed to check for E Coli (bacteria), Giardia, Cryptosporidium, and other pathogenic organisms. This test is so standard that many states must complete it as part of their drinking water regulations.

2. Physical Testing

This type of testing focuses on your water system’s pressure and flow rate. It also looks for issues that may occur later on, such as lead in your pipes, back siphoning of the supply, kinked lines, and more.

3. Chemical Testing

Issues such as if there is a high amount of lead in your water or any contamination from pesticides, herbicides, or other chemicals are hard to spot but can be detrimental to your health. This type of test is done to check the levels of these chemicals in your water to ensure they do not exceed the maximum contaminant level.

How Domestic Water Systems are Tested

After all of the tests have been completed, there are three levels that the water must pass to be safe for consumption.

1. The Minimum Contaminant Level

To pass this test, you do not need to have any bacteria or other pathogens in your water supply. However, these levels are set by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and they usually pertain to either E. coli or Giardia.

2. The Maximum Contaminant Level

This test is similar to the minimum contaminant test. It, too, does not require the presence of any bacteria or other pathogens but instead checks for the existence of heavy metals such as lead, chromium, and mercury.

3. The Enforceable Level

The last type of test that a water system goes through is the enforceable level, an action level, or legally enforceable limit. In order to pass, the water must not exceed the enforceable level. Also, this is usually defined by the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) or an equivalent organization. However, it may be set by other organizations as well.

Benefits of Testing Domestic Water Systems

1. Enables You to Determine if You Have a Lead Issue

It is essential that you know if there is any lead in your water supply because it can cause serious health issues. You should always test for lead to see if there is an issue or not.

2. Helps You Establish the Bacteria Levels

If there are bacterial counts regularly present that are too high, this could indicate an ongoing problem with the water system or pathogen presence at all times.

3. Helps You to Check for Other Chemicals

While heavy metals may not be damaging to your health immediately, the longer you are exposed to them, the more likely you will develop health issues that can be very serious.

4. Checks for Pressure and Flow Rate

Force and flow rate are essential because if there is a problem with either one, it could cause corrosion of your pipelines, leading to a reduction in water pressure and water flow at all times.

Despite what many people believe, your home has a very complex water system built into it. Even though you may not see it, this system is crucial to your everyday life. The water that comes out of your tap makes up 99% of the liquids that you consume in a day.

Written by